It is currently Tue Oct 21, 2014 9:48 pm
   
Text Size

DP 7.24 crashing... re open and Kontakt instances blank!!

For seeking technical help with Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on MacOS.

Moderators: James Steele, Shooshie

Forum rules
This forum is for seeking solutions to technical problems involving Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on MacOS, as well as feature requests, criticisms, comparison to other DAWs.

DP 7.24 crashing... re open and Kontakt instances blank!!

Postby hrw » Wed Nov 30, 2011 12:44 am

I'm having some crashes and then when i reopen the session. The Kontakt instances in DP are empty with none of the previously saved instruments in them. As you can imagine this is immensely aggravating!
Anyone had this issue before. I'm using both K4 and 5... and it's happened with both versions in the past few days.
Computer/s: OSX 10.8.3

2 x 2.66 GHz Mac Pro Quad-Core Intel Xeon w/ 16GB RAM,

DAW:DP8.05
Hardware: Apogee Duet
VI's/Plug-ins:
Kontakt 5.1, EW PLAY Libraries and a
million others.
hrw
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 7:41 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: DP 7.24 crashing... re open and Kontakt instances blank!

Postby bdr » Wed Nov 30, 2011 3:47 pm

I have had the same issue, mainly on one particular project. Really annoying, I ended up saving each of my instances of K4 as a multi so at least I could get it back without to much hassle. In my case it was always an instance of K4 with Session String Pro loaded up. I don't know why and don't expect to find out.
Mac 2.8 8-core, 20 GB RAM, Mac 10.9, DP 8, EWQLSO Platinum Play, Mach V II, Kontakt 5, Superior Drummer, AIR, Absynth 5, Plectrum, CronoX, Albino3, RMV, cup of tea.
User avatar
bdr
 
Posts: 872
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

DP 7.24 crashing... re open and Kontakt instances blank!!

Postby daveyboy » Wed Nov 30, 2011 8:35 pm

Yes, same here. It happened recently and was terribly annoying. I'm mostly working in another daw these days so let it go so am not sure if it's just another DP anomaly or not.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Dave
www.dbwproductions.com
www.myspace.com/dbwproductions
8 core 2.8 mac pro w/ 10 gigs ram, DP7.24, Logic9.1.8 and PT 10.3, Apogee Symphony, UAD2, tons of plugs and VIs, OSX.8.3, 4 room commercial studio great for producers and composers!
User avatar
daveyboy
 
Posts: 850
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2004 11:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: DP 7.24 crashing... re open and Kontakt instances blank!

Postby dix » Wed Nov 30, 2011 9:16 pm

This has happened to me several times. With Omnisphere too. The work-around, when this happens, is to open the auto-saved version of the sequence and save the Multis (of which ever dumped it's patches) and then open them in the instances in the current version.
3ghz 8-core (2008), 10.6.8, 12GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS, DP (latest version), 2408mk3, Apogee Ensemble, UAD-2 Solo, UAD-1::: 15-inch MBP (early 2011) 10.6.8, 4GB, Mbox2 Mini
User avatar
dix
 
Posts: 1191
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: San Francisco
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: DP 7.24 crashing... re open and Kontakt instances blank!

Postby dix » Thu Dec 01, 2011 3:51 pm

My theory is, that since both Kontakt and Omnisphere use sample servers (or whatever you call it when the app is able to access different RAM partitions), it's something to do with that, relatively new, technology.
3ghz 8-core (2008), 10.6.8, 12GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS, DP (latest version), 2408mk3, Apogee Ensemble, UAD-2 Solo, UAD-1::: 15-inch MBP (early 2011) 10.6.8, 4GB, Mbox2 Mini
User avatar
dix
 
Posts: 1191
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: San Francisco
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: DP 7.24 crashing... re open and Kontakt instances blank!

Postby dbawmp » Wed Dec 07, 2011 4:59 pm

Same crashing here, I noticed a unique sound when it crashes, its like an audio stutter. If hear the stutter on the crash, my all instances of k5 will be blank upon reloading the session. If I crash and don't hear that audio they load just fine.
DP8.01 OSX10.8.3
dbawmp
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 11:22 am
Location: Los Angeles
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: DP 7.24 crashing... re open and Kontakt instances blank!

Postby hrw » Wed Dec 07, 2011 7:36 pm

dbawmp wrote:Same crashing here, I noticed a unique sound when it crashes, its like an audio stutter. If hear the stutter on the crash, my all instances of k5 will be blank upon reloading the session. If I crash and don't hear that audio they load just fine.


Yes, very annoying indeed!
dix may be right. Ther5e may be a server memory connection as i've noticed that K4/5 doesn't seem to purge it's samples when i ask it to. i have to not only quit Kontakt but also it's memory server.....
anyway, this lil bug is one i'd love to get sorted out.
Computer/s: OSX 10.8.3

2 x 2.66 GHz Mac Pro Quad-Core Intel Xeon w/ 16GB RAM,

DAW:DP8.05
Hardware: Apogee Duet
VI's/Plug-ins:
Kontakt 5.1, EW PLAY Libraries and a
million others.
hrw
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 7:41 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: DP 7.24 crashing... re open and Kontakt instances blank!

Postby hrw » Wed Feb 08, 2012 12:12 am

Is it better to switch off the memory servers in Kontakt and Spectrasonics if they're being used in VE Pro which already accesses all your RAM?
Computer/s: OSX 10.8.3

2 x 2.66 GHz Mac Pro Quad-Core Intel Xeon w/ 16GB RAM,

DAW:DP8.05
Hardware: Apogee Duet
VI's/Plug-ins:
Kontakt 5.1, EW PLAY Libraries and a
million others.
hrw
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 7:41 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: DP 7.24 crashing... re open and Kontakt instances blank!

Postby Tobor » Wed Feb 08, 2012 7:17 am

bdr wrote:I have had the same issue, mainly on one particular project. Really annoying, I ended up saving each of my instances of K4 as a multi so at least I could get it back without to much hassle. In my case it was always an instance of K4 with Session String Pro loaded up. I don't know why and don't expect to find out.


My situation as well. I'm really liking Session String Pro but some of those presets are huge and Kontakt dislikes auditioning different ones. Can also confirm that Omnisphere seems to hit a wall when auditioning presets as well, especially when Kontakt/Session Strings is also active.

Usually Session Strings/Kontakt and Omnisphere will behave on a session if I don't switch patches, but I have experienced some stuck note crashes in Kontakt on occasion.

Annoying, yes, because I haven't had crashing issues in quite some time. It's not as much fun or productive to have to tiptoe through a session.

Perhaps 64 bit DP will come to the rescue.

Tobor
iMac 2.7 i5, DP 8.07/7.24, 10.9.4, 828, MTPAV, Toontrack, Spectrasonics, BFD3, Drumcore, Reason 6.5, Live 9, Logic X, Miroslav, Waves, Kronos X, MOXF 6, Axiom 49.
User avatar
Tobor
 
Posts: 648
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 11:01 pm
Location: Colorado
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: DP 7.24 crashing... re open and Kontakt instances blank!

Postby sponstage » Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:47 am

wow guys, I have the same problem, so annoying! Crashing all the times I open a certain project. It works if I run the project hitting Shift so it does not load au. Then I deactivate the instrument tracks and load the au. But Kontakt still damnly blank!!
Is it possible that there's no solution? Maybe repair permission? Again, how do you give Kontakt more memory?
And I forgot to mention that you cannot always save multis on some libraries!
OS X 10.7.4 Lion - DP 8.02 - Macbook Pro 2.66 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo - 8GB RAM - PT10 - Mbox 2 mini
User avatar
sponstage
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 4:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: DP 7.24 crashing... re open and Kontakt instances blank!

Postby sponstage » Sat Mar 03, 2012 2:35 pm

any new guys on how to fix this problem?
OS X 10.7.4 Lion - DP 8.02 - Macbook Pro 2.66 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo - 8GB RAM - PT10 - Mbox 2 mini
User avatar
sponstage
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 4:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: DP 7.24 crashing... re open and Kontakt instances blank!

Postby dix » Sat Mar 03, 2012 4:13 pm

No, but I've noticed Mach5 3 does it too. Does M5 3 use a sample server? …i can't remember offhand.
3ghz 8-core (2008), 10.6.8, 12GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS, DP (latest version), 2408mk3, Apogee Ensemble, UAD-2 Solo, UAD-1::: 15-inch MBP (early 2011) 10.6.8, 4GB, Mbox2 Mini
User avatar
dix
 
Posts: 1191
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: San Francisco
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: DP 7.24 crashing... re open and Kontakt instances blank!

Postby zed » Sun Mar 04, 2012 2:03 am

dix wrote:The work-around, when this happens, is to open the auto-saved version of the sequence and save the Multis (of which ever dumped it's patches) and then open them in the instances in the current version.

This may be a work-around that works in DP 7.24, or in other versions most of the time. However, in earlier versions of DP7, the only time I experienced this annoyance of instruments not being loaded into the VI was when I tried to launch an Auto-Saved version of a file that crashed. Auto-Save is not always a complete copy of the the project (or at least that was a bug of 7.1x).

I am actually still in DP 7.12, so I have never encountered this problem with regular project open and closing. Sounds aggravating to be sure. Fortunately DP8 is right around the corner.
MacPro 2.8 GHz 8-Core Intel Xeon | 14 GB RAM | OS 10.6.2 | DP 7.12 | MOTU 2408 mk3 | Mytek Digital ADC | MIDIsport 4x4
User avatar
zed
 
Posts: 3187
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 10:01 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: DP 7.24 crashing... re open and Kontakt instances blank!

Postby rhythm_kitchen » Sun Mar 04, 2012 8:04 am

Does it happen with just Kontact, without Omnisphere or MACH 5? I have a ton of K-4 libraries, but just Session Strings, not Pro. Was waiting on K-8 or not.

Nothing to do with Session Strings Pro maxing out K's memory server?

Any less frequent on K-4.1 than 5? Anyone.
rhythm_kitchen
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 11:26 am
Location: SF, S.South Bay
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: DP 7.24 crashing... re open and Kontakt instances blank!

Postby sponstage » Sun Mar 04, 2012 11:08 am

I don't know about K4, I use K5 and I have this problem of crashing with only one project so far. I also noticed that sometime the crash report of that project point the EZ drummer library...I have no idea why!
I hope DP8 and Kontakt 6 will come out pretty soon.
OS X 10.7.4 Lion - DP 8.02 - Macbook Pro 2.66 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo - 8GB RAM - PT10 - Mbox 2 mini
User avatar
sponstage
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 4:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Next

Return to Digital Performer [MacOS]: Troubleshooting/Criticism

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


Who is online

In total there are 4 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 4 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Login Form