It is currently Wed Sep 20, 2017 2:12 am
   
Text Size

9.5 Bug?: Enabling Record Causes Fader to moves to 0

For seeking technical help with Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on MacOS.

Moderators: James Steele, Shooshie

Forum rules
This forum is for seeking solutions to technical problems involving Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on MacOS, as well as feature requests, criticisms, comparison to other DAWs.

9.5 Bug?: Enabling Record Causes Fader to moves to 0

Postby nikkicm » Wed Sep 13, 2017 8:05 pm

Is anyone else encountering a possible bug after upgrading to 9.5? When I enable record on a track, the fader slides to 0. There is no automation on the tracks, and nothing is muted. I tried inserting volume on the MIDI sequences for the tracks, but when I play the controller, the fader goes back to 0 (this is also true if I increase the volume on the fader).

I've tried restarting DP, as well as my computer. I'm running a 16GB, 2.6GHz Mac, and I use both Kontakt and East/West plug-ins. Really appreciative of any suggestions.
nikkicm
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2017 7:53 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: 9.5 Bug?: Enabling Record Causes Fader to moves to 0

Postby cuttime » Wed Sep 13, 2017 8:24 pm

Not seeing this here. Could it possibly be related to Event Chasing? I have "All Except" volume selected.
Traveler DP9.5 Unisyn 10.6.8 and 10.12.5 i7 iMac 16G
User avatar
cuttime
 
Posts: 2908
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: 9.5 Bug?: Enabling Record Causes Fader to moves to 0

Postby MIDI Life Crisis » Wed Sep 13, 2017 8:39 pm

I'd also check all your tracks in the event list to make sure there isn't data being sent. I'm not seeing your problem either.
2013 Mac Pro 32GB RAM

OSX 10.12.3; DP 9.02; Track 16 Finale 2014.5

http://www.MIDI-Life-Crisis.com
User avatar
MIDI Life Crisis
 
Posts: 23954
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: 9.5 Bug?: Enabling Record Causes Fader to moves to 0

Postby nikkicm » Wed Sep 13, 2017 8:59 pm

I'm a fairly new DP user. I've got the Event List open, but I'm not sure what I'm looking for in the list. All my tracks are MIDI, no audio.
nikkicm
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2017 7:53 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: 9.5 Bug?: Enabling Record Causes Fader to moves to 0

Postby nikkicm » Wed Sep 13, 2017 9:00 pm

MIDI Life Crisis wrote:I'd also check all your tracks in the event list to make sure there isn't data being sent. I'm not seeing your problem either.


I'm a fairly new DP user. I've got the Event List open, but I'm not sure what I'm looking for in the list. All my tracks are MIDI, no audio.
nikkicm
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2017 7:53 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: 9.5 Bug?: Enabling Record Causes Fader to moves to 0

Postby nikkicm » Wed Sep 13, 2017 9:03 pm

cuttime wrote:Not seeing this here. Could it possibly be related to Event Chasing? I have "All Except" volume selected.


Hmm, doesn't seem to solve the problem. Thank you for the suggestion.
nikkicm
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2017 7:53 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: 9.5 Bug?: Enabling Record Causes Fader to moves to 0

Postby MIDI Life Crisis » Wed Sep 13, 2017 9:29 pm

You are looking for controller #7 or possibly #11 (often sent by MIDI controllers instead of #7). 7= volume; 11=expression.

Another thing to troubleshoot is to turn off automation. That will prevent the control change from happening and you can at least see if that's what is going on.

You can also see it in the MIDI editor window. I'd suggest changing the view to LINES so more easily determine if there's a controller data point that is causing the problem.

If you want to send me the file to look at I can do that but it should be pretty simple to fix. Should be...
2013 Mac Pro 32GB RAM

OSX 10.12.3; DP 9.02; Track 16 Finale 2014.5

http://www.MIDI-Life-Crisis.com
User avatar
MIDI Life Crisis
 
Posts: 23954
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: 9.5 Bug?: Enabling Record Causes Fader to moves to 0

Postby James Steele » Wed Sep 13, 2017 9:51 pm

nikkicm wrote:Is anyone else encountering a possible bug after upgrading to 9.5? When I enable record on a track, the fader slides to 0. There is no automation on the tracks, and nothing is muted. I tried inserting volume on the MIDI sequences for the tracks, but when I play the controller, the fader goes back to 0 (this is also true if I increase the volume on the fader).

I've tried restarting DP, as well as my computer. I'm running a 16GB, 2.6GHz Mac, and I use both Kontakt and East/West plug-ins. Really appreciative of any suggestions.


Not happening here. Any chance you have a keyboard controller or other control surface that is stuck or outputting a volume message?
JamesSteele.com | Dean Guitars | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter

MacPro5,1 Hexcore 3.33, 24GB RAM, macOS 10.12.6, ATI 5770, DP 9.12, MOTU HD192, 24I/O, UAD-2 Duo, Lucid GENx192, HV-3C, Red Type B, Dean guitars, Marshall amps, etc., etc.!
User avatar
James Steele
Site Administrator
 
Posts: 16786
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: San Diego, CA - U.S.A.
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: 9.5 Bug?: Enabling Record Causes Fader to moves to 0

Postby nikkicm » Thu Sep 14, 2017 7:08 am

James Steele wrote:
nikkicm wrote:Is anyone else encountering a possible bug after upgrading to 9.5? When I enable record on a track, the fader slides to 0. There is no automation on the tracks, and nothing is muted. I tried inserting volume on the MIDI sequences for the tracks, but when I play the controller, the fader goes back to 0 (this is also true if I increase the volume on the fader).

I've tried restarting DP, as well as my computer. I'm running a 16GB, 2.6GHz Mac, and I use both Kontakt and East/West plug-ins. Really appreciative of any suggestions.


Not happening here. Any chance you have a keyboard controller or other control surface that is stuck or outputting a volume message?



YES! Thank you. I unplugged the controller, downloaded a new driver, restarted, and it appears to be fine now. Thank you for the help!
nikkicm
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2017 7:53 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: 9.5 Bug?: Enabling Record Causes Fader to moves to 0

Postby nikkicm » Thu Sep 14, 2017 7:09 am

MIDI Life Crisis wrote:You are looking for controller #7 or possibly #11 (often sent by MIDI controllers instead of #7). 7= volume; 11=expression.

Another thing to troubleshoot is to turn off automation. That will prevent the control change from happening and you can at least see if that's what is going on.

You can also see it in the MIDI editor window. I'd suggest changing the view to LINES so more easily determine if there's a controller data point that is causing the problem.

If you want to send me the file to look at I can do that but it should be pretty simple to fix. Should be...


Thank you so much for taking the time to help me understand what to look for here. :)
nikkicm
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2017 7:53 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: 9.5 Bug?: Enabling Record Causes Fader to moves to 0

Postby David Polich » Thu Sep 14, 2017 7:43 am

Can you mark this thread "Resolved"?
Mac Pro 2010 2.8Ghz Quadcore, 32GB RAM,OSX 10.12.5, MIDI Timepiece AV, Apogee Duet 2, DP 9.13, Waves, Slate , Izotope, UAD, Amplitube, Spectrasonics, Native Instruments, Pianoteq, Soniccouture, Arturia, Amplesound, Sample Modeling, Toontrack, BFD, Yamaha Montage 6, Yamaha Motif XF6, Yamaha Motif XS6, Yamaha MO XF6,Yamaha Reface DX, Korg Kronos X61, Korg M361, Korg CX-3, Alesis Ion,Sequential Prophet 6, Roland D-50 and JV-2080, Yamaha Disklavier MK 3 piano.
http://www.davepolich.com
David Polich
 
Posts: 4685
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified


Return to Digital Performer [MacOS]: Troubleshooting/Criticism

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests


Who is online

In total there are 3 users online :: 1 registered, 0 hidden and 2 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests

Login Form