It is currently Wed Jun 28, 2017 7:03 am
   
Text Size

Biggest issue for not purchasing DP

For seeking technical help with Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on MacOS.

Moderators: James Steele, Shooshie

Forum rules
This forum is for seeking solutions to technical problems involving Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on MacOS, as well as feature requests, criticisms, comparison to other DAWs.

Biggest issue for not purchasing DP

Postby rangerx » Fri May 19, 2017 3:44 am

after talking with friends, they like DP but the graphics just toooo! small we all use hi res monitors and the fonts in some cases people struggle to see , in my case the edit points for MIDI velocity are the size of pinheads , what a struggle , there is a work around but not good enough,

so motu update the GUI your daw is designed for monitors from the 80"s
you would increases your sales i'm sure or at least give an option of down load for hi res monitors
Last edited by rangerx on Sat May 20, 2017 3:10 am, edited 1 time in total.
Mac pro 4.1 32 gig, Mac pro 6.1 32 gig
Kawai VPC1 ,Novation Impulse 61, korg Kontrol pad
2 x BCF2000 , Motu 896 mk3, Motu express 128 , acer touch screen t272hul

ITS A GOOD DAY FOR A SMILE !
rangerx
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2015 1:41 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Bigest issue for not purchasing DP

Postby Klaus » Fri May 19, 2017 5:22 am

Reduce your monitor resolution…
I use a 32" TV and it's cool

Klaus
Klaus
 
Posts: 1052
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Bigest issue for not purchasing DP

Postby stubbsonic » Fri May 19, 2017 7:45 am

You are 100% right, and most folks on here agree. It is something that MOTU should address. I've done some pretty painstaking editing of tempos using the graphic conductor track, and the little T's are quite hard to click & drag on with a retina display.
RMBP (2.6 i7), FF800, OS 10.10.5, DP8, Kontakt, Reaktor, K2661S, K2500RS, iPad4, (also an old sawtooth G4 with a UAD-1 for legacy apps).

http://www.jonstubbsmusic.com
User avatar
stubbsonic
 
Posts: 2309
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 1:56 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Bigest issue for not purchasing DP

Postby csiaudio » Fri May 19, 2017 10:02 am

Sadly MOTU doesn't seem to have the proper resources to improving DP to it's full potential. Sure the program 'works' but compared to today's DAW's it lacks in innovation and stability. MOTU releases weak updates which seem like they weren't even beta tested (9.0) and 9.0 was released on 6/15 and they're still working out the bugs 2 years later. Seems users such as myself have grown a custom to 'work arounds' hoping that someday MOTU will fix DP so it simply works as it should. I'm sure some will argue my comments, and of course they're entitled to their opinions just as I am, however if my business wasn't so deeply embedded into DP I would switch to Cubase. Unfortunately the task of switching keeps me up at night.
Capturing the Colors of Sound!

Mac Mini 2.5GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i5 -- 16 Gigs Ram -- DP 9.1 -- Universal Audio Apollo Quad -- Apollo Twin -- SPL Kultube Compressor -- Slate Virtual Mic -- Eve SC207's w/KRK Sub
User avatar
csiaudio
 
Posts: 512
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: Indiana; Where the corn is tall and the women are wide!
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Bigest issue for not purchasing DP

Postby stubbsonic » Fri May 19, 2017 10:43 am

In recent months we've been able to lay some of the responsibility for DP's development priorities and lack of stability on Apple's ridiculous pace of OS releases.

And some of us are in a weird limbo of either resisting OS updates, or straddling them.

As for not buying DP or switching to another DAW, it's obviously a matter of where your priorities are. Years ago, I tried Lodge..Ick! in an attempt to move away from DP. And I really hated LP. I came running back to DP with my tail between my legs. "I'm sorry I ever doubted you!"

For me, the main pain is that DP crashes about once every five sessions, sometimes in front of clients. And I sometimes lose work, and sometimes that is painful. But as for the workflow stuff, I'm mostly satisfied.

Little things about selection & dragging get on my nerves, but they are hardly noticed by most people besides me. This tiny screen icons is not a deal breaker, just a sign of something that could be fixed, but hasn't been.
RMBP (2.6 i7), FF800, OS 10.10.5, DP8, Kontakt, Reaktor, K2661S, K2500RS, iPad4, (also an old sawtooth G4 with a UAD-1 for legacy apps).

http://www.jonstubbsmusic.com
User avatar
stubbsonic
 
Posts: 2309
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 1:56 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Bigest issue for not purchasing DP

Postby rangerx » Fri May 19, 2017 2:13 pm

Klaus wrote:Reduce your monitor resolution…
I use a 32" TV and it's cool

Klaus

i use 4 montiors i can do this but then i have reconfig for other programs , not to mention most plugins already address the hi res issue, i like fast work flow dp has this . after awhile i go with anothe daw for ideas then at the end use DP for the main work still we shouldn't have to adjust
Mac pro 4.1 32 gig, Mac pro 6.1 32 gig
Kawai VPC1 ,Novation Impulse 61, korg Kontrol pad
2 x BCF2000 , Motu 896 mk3, Motu express 128 , acer touch screen t272hul

ITS A GOOD DAY FOR A SMILE !
rangerx
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2015 1:41 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Bigest issue for not purchasing DP

Postby stubbsonic » Fri May 19, 2017 3:07 pm

The monitor resolution workaround is just that.

I guess another way to think of the screen resolution issue with DP is that most of the UI as workable at multiple resolutions, but there is are a few areas where the tiniest elements are too tiny on modern monitors.
RMBP (2.6 i7), FF800, OS 10.10.5, DP8, Kontakt, Reaktor, K2661S, K2500RS, iPad4, (also an old sawtooth G4 with a UAD-1 for legacy apps).

http://www.jonstubbsmusic.com
User avatar
stubbsonic
 
Posts: 2309
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 1:56 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Biggest issue for not purchasing DP

Postby apanacci » Fri May 26, 2017 2:02 pm

I dont think we should have to rely on monitor res. There should be a choice in the program. I mix in PT most of the time because of its DUI size. I hate editing in DP in MIDI because everything is sooooo small.
2009 8 Core Mac, (24 gigs Ram), MacBookPro , 828MKIII Hybrid , 8Pre, OSX 10.9.5, DP8/9, MachV3, PT12 , Peak 7, Logic 9 ,WaveLab 8, DSP-Quattro ,many plugins ,many mics and synths. http://www.panaccimusic.com
apanacci
 
Posts: 337
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 10:01 pm
Location: Toronto
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Biggest issue for not purchasing DP

Postby mikehalloran » Fri May 26, 2017 3:32 pm

apanacci wrote:... I hate editing in DP in MIDI because everything is sooooo small.

MIDI or Audio?

With audio, I can make anything any size I want. MIDI, otoh, can sometimes be a bit of a struggle but I manage.
July 2010 iMac 2.93G i7 Quad, OWC eSATA mod, 32G RAM, OS 10.12.4
828mkII FW; MOTU MTP/AV USB with Firmware 2.0.1; DP 9.13, 9.02, 8.07 64bit, DP 7.24; IK-NI-Izotope-PSP-Garritan Antares, 32Lives, JBridge, MachFive 3.2.1
LogicPro X 10.3, Finale 25.3, 2014.5, Encore 5.0.7, Notion 6, Overture 5, TwistedWave, DSP-Q 4.4, QuickTime Pro 7.6.6, SmartScore Pro X2 10.5.5, Toast 15
Test machine: G4-1K Dual Processor: OS 10.4.11 / OS 9.2.2; DP 5.13; Encore 5.05 & 4.5.5; Toast 9.07b, legacy apps
User avatar
mikehalloran
 
Posts: 8285
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 6:08 pm
Location: Sillie Con Valley
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Biggest issue for not purchasing DP

Postby apanacci » Fri May 26, 2017 5:01 pm

The MIDI part Mike. The little dots and lines. Audio editing is fine for me. Also as it has been posted many times, the size of the mixer.
2009 8 Core Mac, (24 gigs Ram), MacBookPro , 828MKIII Hybrid , 8Pre, OSX 10.9.5, DP8/9, MachV3, PT12 , Peak 7, Logic 9 ,WaveLab 8, DSP-Quattro ,many plugins ,many mics and synths. http://www.panaccimusic.com
apanacci
 
Posts: 337
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 10:01 pm
Location: Toronto
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Biggest issue for not purchasing DP

Postby Michael Canavan » Fri May 26, 2017 6:31 pm

Funny, I'm near sighted so I don't wear my glasses when working with DP. My monitors are just over two feet away, so even though I get that this is an issue, I often work in other DAWs and wonder why people don't complain about them? There are areas with tiny fonts in most DAWs. The major thing MOTU needed to change years ago was the little microscopic v's on the top of the lines for velocity in the MIDI and Sequence editors. That wasn't that great 17 years ago on low resolution monitors and it's even worse now. There's a solution for it in this forum if you search for it, somebody modded it to be a much larger square. 8)
Mac Pro 12 core 3.33Ghz. 24G RAM, RME fireface 800, Remote SL, DP9, Live 9 Suite. Falcon, Diva, V-Colletion, NI Ultimate, Maschine, Spark, not enough time.
Michael Canavan
 
Posts: 1877
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 10:01 pm
Location: seattle
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Biggest issue for not purchasing DP

Postby Michael Canavan » Fri May 26, 2017 6:37 pm

http://www.motu.com/other/feedback/suggestions

I just sent this, feel free to do the same! :)

The Velocity v in Digital Performer needs to be updated for modern screen resolutions, it's barely visible, and a constant complaint of people thinking about switching to DP.

In general the GUI would befit from a refresh to allow for visibility higher resolution settings, larger fonts etc.
Mac Pro 12 core 3.33Ghz. 24G RAM, RME fireface 800, Remote SL, DP9, Live 9 Suite. Falcon, Diva, V-Colletion, NI Ultimate, Maschine, Spark, not enough time.
Michael Canavan
 
Posts: 1877
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 10:01 pm
Location: seattle
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Biggest issue for not purchasing DP

Postby apanacci » Fri May 26, 2017 8:25 pm

Just dropped them a line about that. Never thought to, but as my eyes grow older, I need all the help I can get !
2009 8 Core Mac, (24 gigs Ram), MacBookPro , 828MKIII Hybrid , 8Pre, OSX 10.9.5, DP8/9, MachV3, PT12 , Peak 7, Logic 9 ,WaveLab 8, DSP-Quattro ,many plugins ,many mics and synths. http://www.panaccimusic.com
apanacci
 
Posts: 337
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 10:01 pm
Location: Toronto
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Biggest issue for not purchasing DP

Postby HCMarkus » Fri May 26, 2017 9:11 pm

Get SwitchResX. It allows one to set custom screen resolutions on a per application basis.

Or get a bigger 4k monitor. I find DP is quite usable at full-res on a 40" 4k monitor.
User avatar
HCMarkus
 
Posts: 5909
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 10:01 am
Location: Rancho Bohemia, California
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Biggest issue for not purchasing DP

Postby terrybritton » Sat May 27, 2017 7:23 am

apanacci wrote:Just dropped them a line about that. Never thought to, but as my eyes grow older, I need all the help I can get !


Thanks for that. MOTU has to pick up on the fact that its "since-forever" die-hard fans still working with DP are going to get, um, "older" one of these days! :|

Terry
Computer: Dell XPS 8700-1751BLK | Intel Haswell Core i7 4790@3.6Mhz | 16GB DDR3 1600Mhz | Windows 10 Pro x64 |
MOTU 828 mk3 hybrid- USB

DAWs and Live: MOTU Digital Performer 9.1.3 | Samplitude Pro X3 Suite | Cantabile 3 Performer
Keyboard Synths: Kawai K5000s, Korg Wavestation
Controllers: NI Komplete Kontrol S-88, Akai MPK249, Behringer BCF2000; NI Maschine Jam; Peavey PC 1600x
Rack Modules: Ensoniq ESQm, Yamaha TX81Z, Lexicon LXP-5

Videos: https://www.youtube.com/terryleighbritton
User avatar
terrybritton
 
Posts: 599
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 8:45 am
Location: Elizabeth City, NC
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Next

Return to Digital Performer [MacOS]: Troubleshooting/Criticism

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Google [Bot] and 2 guests


Who is online

In total there are 4 users online :: 2 registered, 0 hidden and 2 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Google [Bot] and 2 guests

Login Form