It is currently Wed Nov 22, 2017 10:20 pm
   
Text Size

OS/X internal sound module issue

For seeking technical help with Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on MacOS.

Moderators: James Steele, Shooshie

Forum rules
This forum is for seeking solutions to technical problems involving Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on MacOS, as well as feature requests, criticisms, comparison to other DAWs.

OS/X internal sound module issue

Postby cleamon » Thu Feb 16, 2017 2:38 pm

Once upon a time, I could open a .mid file with DP and it would play through the internal OS/X sound module -- without me setting up a track with DSLMusicDevice and changing all the other tracks to use it. It was a quick way to audition .mid files. That does not seem to work any more. I still get the dialog to allow device Remapping to which I answer [OK] (like I always have). But I get no sounds.
I could be wrong, but I think this has worked with my current configuration (DP8.07 and OS/X 10.11.6)
----------------------------------------------
Chuck
iMac 3.2GHz Core i3 || 12GB Ram || OS/X 10.11.6 || Motu 828MkII || DP8.07
Macbook Pro (Retina, 13-inch), 2.7 GHz i5, 8GB Ram
User avatar
cleamon
 
Posts: 203
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 3:19 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: OS/X internal sound module issue

Postby cuttime » Thu Feb 16, 2017 2:53 pm

That was with the older version of QuickTime. Version 7 I believe? I have it installed in Sierra and it still works.
https://support.apple.com/kb/dl837?locale=en_US
Traveler DP9.51 Unisyn 10.6.8 and 10.13.1 i7 iMac 16G
User avatar
cuttime
 
Posts: 2951
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: OS/X internal sound module issue

Postby cleamon » Thu Feb 16, 2017 3:06 pm

cuttime wrote:That was with the older version of QuickTime. Version 7 I believe? I have it installed in Sierra and it still works.
https://support.apple.com/kb/dl837?locale=en_US

I think you mis-understand my problem. Yes, I have QuickTime 7 and it works fine. However, when I open the same .mid file with DP, the "Apple Software Synth" does not appear in the options for remapping. It used to default to that, but now it defaults to IAC Driver and Apple Software Synth is not in the pull down options.
I confirmed by booting on a recent clone drive, that this did work with OS/X 10.11.6 and DP8. It just quit working on my primary boot drive for some reason.
----------------------------------------------
Chuck
iMac 3.2GHz Core i3 || 12GB Ram || OS/X 10.11.6 || Motu 828MkII || DP8.07
Macbook Pro (Retina, 13-inch), 2.7 GHz i5, 8GB Ram
User avatar
cleamon
 
Posts: 203
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 3:19 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: OS/X internal sound module issue

Postby cleamon » Thu Feb 16, 2017 4:03 pm

I seem to recall there being a setting in preferences whether to use the Apple Soft Synth or not. But I can't find it now.
----------------------------------------------
Chuck
iMac 3.2GHz Core i3 || 12GB Ram || OS/X 10.11.6 || Motu 828MkII || DP8.07
Macbook Pro (Retina, 13-inch), 2.7 GHz i5, 8GB Ram
User avatar
cleamon
 
Posts: 203
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 3:19 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: OS/X internal sound module issue

Postby cleamon » Thu Feb 16, 2017 5:33 pm

Ok, I found it. The setting is under Setup->Interapplication MIDI. It was disabled somehow.
----------------------------------------------
Chuck
iMac 3.2GHz Core i3 || 12GB Ram || OS/X 10.11.6 || Motu 828MkII || DP8.07
Macbook Pro (Retina, 13-inch), 2.7 GHz i5, 8GB Ram
User avatar
cleamon
 
Posts: 203
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 3:19 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: OS/X internal sound module issue

Postby mikehalloran » Thu Feb 16, 2017 8:30 pm

cleamon wrote:Ok, I found it. The setting is under Setup->Interapplication MIDI. It was disabled somehow.

Glad you found it.

Here's the correct link for QT 7.6.6 for the Mac for those who don't have it.
https://support.apple.com/kb/dl923?locale=en_US

It installs in the Utilities Folder so that it doesn't conflict with QT 10, part of the OS since Snow Leopard.

If you've been updating your system since OS 10.5, look for QT 7.7 and, if found, send it to the Trash. Not only doesn't it work but can keep QT 7.6.6 from working properly.
July 2010 iMac 2.93G i7 Quad, OWC eSATA mod, 32G RAM, OS 10.13.1
828mkII FW; MOTU MTP/AV USB with Firmware 2.0.1; DP 9.5.1; IK-NI-Izotope-PSP-Garritan Antares, 32Lives, MachFive 3.2.1
LogicPro X 10.3.2, Finale 25.4.1, 2014.5, Encore 5.0.7, Notion 6, Overture 5, TwistedWave 1.18, DSP-Q 4.4, QuickTime Pro 7.6.6, SmartScore Pro X2 10.5.5, Toast 15.1
Test machine: G4-1K Dual Processor: OS 10.4.11 / OS 9.2.2; DP 5.13; Encore 5.05 & 4.5.5; Toast 9.07b, legacy apps
User avatar
mikehalloran
 
Posts: 8820
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 6:08 pm
Location: Sillie Con Valley
Primary DAW OS: MacOS


Return to Digital Performer [MacOS]: Troubleshooting/Criticism

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


Who is online

In total there are 2 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 2 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Login Form